๐–™๐–Ž๐–‹๐–‹๐–†๐–“๐–ž - ๐–™๐–๐–Š ๐–™๐–—๐–š๐–™๐– ๐–š๐–“๐–™๐–”๐–‘๐–‰

"๐“ฒ๐“ฏ ๐“ฒ ๐“ฑ๐“ช๐“ญ ๐“ฝ๐“ฑ๐“ฎ ๐“ฌ๐“ธ๐“พ๐“ป๐“ช๐“ฐ๐“ฎ ๐“ฝ๐“ธ ๐“ผ๐“ฝ๐“ช๐“ท๐“ญ ๐“ซ๐“ฎ๐“ฏ๐“ธ๐“ป๐“ฎ ๐”‚๐“ธ๐“พ, ๐”€๐“ธ๐“พ๐“ต๐“ญ ๐“ฎ๐“ฟ๐“ฎ๐“ป๐”‚๐“ฝ๐“ฑ๐“ฒ๐“ท๐“ฐ ๐“ซ๐“ฎ ๐“ญ๐“ฒ๐“ฏ๐“ฏ๐“ฎ๐“ป๐“ฎ๐“ท๐“ฝ ๐“ท๐“ธ๐”€?"- ๐“ซ๐“ฝ๐“ผ, ๐“ฝ๐“ฑ๐“ฎ ๐“ฝ๐“ป๐“พ๐“ฝ๐“ฑ ๐“พ๐“ท๐“ฝ๐“ธ๐“ต๐“ญ

๐“ผ๐“ฝ๐“ช๐”‚ ๐”€๐“ฒ๐“ฝ๐“ฑ ๐“ถ๐“ฎโ€” สฒแต˜โฟแต‰ แตแต‰โฟสณแต‰ แต–แต’หขแต—

Stay with Me

Scene 1

The curtain rises. There is a young teenage couple arguing on the sidewalk, which is dimly lit by the streetlamps. Shouts of, โ€œI hate you!โ€ and โ€œI never want to see you again!โ€ are heard despite the heavy rain. Cars pass them by. The boy is holding his hands in the air, exasperated. The girl is rubbing her eyes and emotionally distraught. Suddenly, she runs onto the road. The light flashes.

BEEEPP.

Gabriel: (yelling) Laura!

The boy is seen frantically stumbling across the road towards the girl. The cars zip by, without a care. He gently picks her up and rests her head on his knee. His hands are now covered with blood.

Gabriel: Laura! Oh no, oh no, oh noโ€ฆ

Laura: (weakly) Hey.

Gabriel: (choking out) Hey.

Gabriel: Donโ€™t die on me. You canโ€™t die. You canโ€™t.

The sound of ambulance sirens wail in the distance. Lauraโ€™s eyelids begin to droop.

Gabriel: (widens eyes) Laura!

Laura: (attempts to smile) Yes?

Gabriel: (sobbing) I didnโ€™t mean what I said. I love you, Laura. Stay with me. Please. Stay with me.

The sirens continue to wail. The rain continues to pour.

Laura: I love you too, Gabe.

Her head rolls to the side. Gabriel tries to prop her body back up, but to no avail. He grabs it by the shoulders and shakes it, sobbing. He mutters inaudibly over and over again. The curtain drops.

Scene 2

The curtain rises. It is winter; the evergreen trees are dusted with pure white snow. The boy is walking along the sidewalk, his brow furrowed deep in thought. The car stops for him, and he steps out onto the road. He pauses there, and stares at the car. The driver grows impatient.

BEEP. BEEP.

Driver: Hey kid! Are you going to move, or what?

Gabriel: (mumbling) Lauraโ€ฆ

Driver: Move, kid!

He does not move. The driver flashes his headlights. Gabriel jumps up.

Gabriel: (startled) Yes?

Driver: Get off of the road, sonny.

Gabriel: Sorry, sir.

He looks at the white lily in his hand, smiles, and crosses the road. He then eagerly runs through the snowy field towards an abandoned playground.

Gabriel: Iโ€™m coming for ya, Laura!

The curtain drops.

Scene 3

The curtain rises. The boy runs onstage and nearly hits an evergreen tree. In an attempt to avoid it, he clumsily trips and lands face first into the playground pea gravel.

Gabriel: Ow!

He hears giggling, and looks up. There was Laura, sitting on the swing, her hand over her mouth.

Laura: Oh, dear.

Gabriel: Itโ€™s not funny!

Laura: (innocently) What is?

Gabriel: You know what I mean.

Laura: Hm? Oh, that WAS a nasty fall. You good?

Gabriel: No, because SOMEONE was laughing at me.

Laura: It was funny!

Laura: (after a few seconds) Well, Iโ€™m sorry for laughing. Now, come sit!

She gestures towards the empty swing beside her. Gabriel shoots a very convincing glare before sitting down. They sit in silence, rocking back and forth gently. Squeaking noises can be heard from the swing chains.

Gabriel: You should come to school soon. Itโ€™s awfully lonely without you, you know.

Laura: Donโ€™t you have other friends?

Gabriel: Wellโ€ฆ I got you.

Laura: And?

Gabriel: Thatโ€™s all I need.

Embarrassed, he turns to look at her. Laura grows quiet.

Gabriel: Come onโ€ฆ I was just kidding.

Laura: Were you, now.

Gabriel: But you should really go sometime! The teachers are
forgetting to call your name during attendance!

Laura: I donโ€™t think that they are forgetting, Gabeโ€ฆ

Gabriel: (firmly) I think they are. What kind of teacher acts like their student doesnโ€™t exist? I gotta remind them all the time.

Laura: You idiotโ€ฆ

Gabriel: And your friends! They donโ€™t save you a spot at lunch!

Laura: They donโ€™t have toโ€ฆ

Gabriel: And every time I call them out on it, they look at me weirdly!

He sighs and runs his hand through his hair. Laura looks at him with concern.

Gabriel: (seriously) Honestlyโ€ฆ school sucks. I wish I could just sit here and stay with you for an eternity. We could watch the sun rise and set, and wish on shooting stars, and call out to flying birds, and pick daisies in the spring, and race each other up the slide, and talk about anything: dreams, hopes, and plans. Because I donโ€™t need anybody else but you, Laura. The other people, they just donโ€™t understand me, you know?

Laura nods hesitantly, biting her lip.

Gabriel: Oh, and by the way, this is for you.

He hands her the slightly crushed white lily. Some of its petals were falling off.

Laura: Ummโ€ฆ Thanks?

She makes no effort to receive it, so Gabriel places it on the snow near her feet. They continue to watch the sky above them silently as they swing back and forth. Laura comes to an abrupt stop and faces Gabriel.

Laura: (sharply) I think that you should stop coming here every day.

Gabriel: (startled) Whoa, there. Donโ€™t joke about that, please.

Laura: Iโ€™m not joking. Gabriel, I am not joking. Turn around. Look at me. (He does.) Does it look like Iโ€™m joking?

Gabriel: Noโ€ฆ

Laura: Exactly. I said what I said. No more park visits.

Gabriel: (with a pained look on his face)Butโ€ฆ why? This isnโ€™t a breakup or anythingโ€ฆ right?

The wind blows. Laura avoids his gaze and focuses on warming her hands.

Laura: (softly) Itโ€™s been three months, Gabe. I think itโ€™s time you-

Gabriel: Ah. You must be cold. What were you thinking, wearing a white dress on a winterโ€™s day? Here, let me help.

His arms move to take off his fluffy jacket. He stands up and attempts to drape it over her frail shoulders. The coat falls promptly to the ground.

Laura: Gabe-

Gabriel: No, I got this.

Laura: Come on, Gabriel. You know it wonโ€™t work.

Gabriel: (aggressively) It will.

He bends over, picks up the jacket, and places it on her again. It falls to the ground.

Gabriel: I think there is something wrong with my jacket.

Laura: There is nothing wrong with your jacket. Canโ€™t you see? Iโ€™m-

Gabriel: Right here. In front of me. Yes?

Laura: Touch me.

Gabriel: Huh?

Laura: Hold my hand.

Gabriel: Why? Is it cold?
He reaches out, and holds her hand.

Laura: Now squeeze it. (He does.) What do you feel?

Gabriel: Nothing? That doesnโ€™t make senseโ€ฆ

He frowns, and presses his hand against his face. He then presses it against hers.

Gabriel: Itโ€™s coldโ€ฆ So coldโ€ฆ

Laura: Canโ€™t you see?

Gabriel: Noโ€ฆ it canโ€™t beโ€ฆ Get it offโ€ฆ Get it off!

Laura: Thereโ€™s nothing on you.

Gabriel: (panicking) I see blood on my hands. Laura, thereโ€™s blood! Laura! Where are you? Iโ€™m sorry! Come back! Laura!

Laura: Iโ€™m not real, Gabe. Itโ€™s about time youโ€™ve realized that.

Gabriel: (frantically, waving his hands in the air) You are real, Laura. You are in front of me! Always with me! We promised, right?

He waits for an answer.

Gabriel: I canโ€™t see you. Laura, come back! Donโ€™t leave me! I canโ€™t live without you! Please, donโ€™t leave meโ€ฆ I love youโ€ฆ

The boy is on his knees, sobbing, and clutching the jacket. The wind blows, and it begins to snow. The petals fly away. The curtain falls.

End scene


I can’t write a play soo…. Here’s something cliche :))

Featured Image: https://www.pinterest.ru/pin/352547477072527500/

Next Post

Leave a Reply

© 2024 ๐–™๐–Ž๐–‹๐–‹๐–†๐–“๐–ž – ๐–™๐–๐–Š ๐–™๐–—๐–š๐–™๐– ๐–š๐–“๐–™๐–”๐–‘๐–‰

Theme by Anders Norén

Skip to toolbar